Skip to content

WE ARE ALIVE!

June 24, 2012

Hello everyone back home! We are alive and kickin’. We made it all the way through Singapore and into Indonesia safely.
So far this has been the first opportunity for us to send out a message to you all. There is very limited internet connection in the area we are in and even less when we get to base camp. We weren’t expecting it to be this limited so to be completely honest we aren’t sure of the next time we will be able to update.
So, to fill you all in so far we have been going through language training, eating exotic food and bracing ourselves for the humidity to increase throughout the day. This is the third full day in Indonesia and we have already learned so much from the people we have been in community with and the work of God in our everyday actions.

We each want to say some things to our families and friends since we don’t know the next time we can before we arrive back into the states… so here we go! 🙂

 

From Whit:

FAMILY: I’M ALIVE!!!!! No more need to worry, I have been safe, I have been hydrated and I have been eating. No need to come to the country and rescue me… because I know that you were both planning a trip down here since you haven’t heard from me in three days. And no… I’m not ignoring you, I haven’t been able to get ahold of you. I love you both, I’ve been praying daily for you both, and you are constantly on my mind. I have been learning so much, experiencing so much and can’t wait to share ALL my stories with you. We are just about to leave for the islands tomorrow and I can’t wait. I love you both and I’ll talk with you soon.

FRIENDS: You are all in my heart and on my mind. I can’t wait to see you and tell you my funky stories that I know you will appreciate. I love you all!!! I can’t wait to see you all. So tired… it’s already 8:30. I must sleep!

From Jess:
You guys!!! I’m in Indonesia and it is incredible! It hasn’t even been a full week, but we have done so much already! Traveling was tiring, but we got caught up on sleep! The food is absolutely amazing and the weather is nice and hot! I honestly think that I was made to live in this country 😀 Please stop worrying! I’m alive and they are taking such good care of us! We have an AMAZING indonesian woman that is our mother for the month 🙂 Two days ago I got a slight infection in both eyes. I got a prescription and have been resting a lot, so it is getting better. But I would love for all of you to be praying for complete healing and a healthy trip! (Mom, Dad, Ry, & family) I love you guys so much and I cannot wait to tell you all about the incredible experiences i am having! God is so good!
Love,
Slim

 

From Sam:

 

Hey everyone! How are you? Baik Baik Lah! The first 45 hours of traveling kind of sucked a lot but the first three days in Indonesia have been phenomenal! The woman that are our language teachers are amazing, my team is wonderful, and the groups from other schools and places (Westmont, Wheaton, The Navigators, and Bethany Bible Church) are fantastic with great friendships already being formed! God is already moving in my life and working on the Islands we will be visiting and I can’t wait to see how He’ll use broken vessels like us for His glory. I miss you guys but I am having a blast and will see you sooner than I am ready for. I appreciate all your love and support that I know is coming this way. You guys are the best! I love you all.

Love,

The Real Slim Shady

hey wonderful people(:
i won’t add too much to this (since i don’t want to hold up the blogging line – NOT because i don’t absolutely love you all..), but i just want to tell everyone how much i love it here.  it’s hot &humid, but it’s beyond beautiful, &the people are even more amazing than the scenery… i can’t even begin to express how grateful i am for our hosts &their strength &humility &warmth…i just love them.  &i know i’m supposed to be here.  i’m learning so much from everyone, about G’s incredible power &… i can’t even begin on that, but i’m bursting with excitement.  i’m constantly impressed with the insight &faith of my teammates…&just, i’m going to go now, but G’s amazing,, basically.
saya sayang kalian (: (:
-“eli”

Beloved Blogees,

Where do I begin? Three days in and it feels like I’ve been here for three years. Well, perhaps not that long. My point is, I fit in. I have islander blood: my Philippine factor is surfacing (Indonesia and the Philippines are near neighbors). Filipinos and Indonesians share a lot in common. I see many of the jovial, spirited, and rhythmic personality traits in the Indonesians that I know in my mom. There has been much laughter, singing, and smiles these three days. There’s only much more to come, where that came from.

We won’t have another opportunity to blog until the end of the trip. You’ll hear more from me then, in person.

Alhamdulilah! (Praise God)

-LP

 

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. maddie permalink

    So good to hear from all of you! Keep having wonderful adventures! You guys are amazing!

  2. Angela Dyk permalink

    We continue to pray for God to bless each of you with health, strength and energy. Keep looking to Him!!!! You are shining His Light!!! Love, Jessica’s Aunt Ang

Leave a Reply

